Pennsylvania has different penalties for driving under the influence depending on the level of impairment. Drivers who have a higher blood alcohol content are subject to higher fees, longer license suspension periods and potentially longer prison terms.
Review the types of DUI charges in the Keystone State.
BAC of 0.08% to 0.99%
For this level of impairment, the driver may receive these legal consequences for the first offense:
- $300 fine
- Probation for six months
- Mandated alcohol rehabilitation or driving safety courses
A second offense at this level carries a $2,500 fine and up to six months in jail. The driver will also receive a license suspension for 12 months and must install an ignition interlock device at his or her own cost. Third and subsequent offenses can result in $5,000 fines and up to 24 months in jail.
BAC of 0.10% to 0.159%
Pennsylvania considers this BAC range high impairment. A first offense carries:
- Up to $5,000 in fines
- Up to six months in jail
- License suspension for 12 months
For subsequent convictions, drivers can receive an 18-month license suspension with ignition interlock device requirement, doubled fines and up to five years in jail.
BAC of 0.16% and above
A first-time DUI with a BAC at this level can result in a six-month license suspension. A convicted driver will also receive up to $10,000 in fines and six months in jail.
These penalties also apply to DUI cases involving drugs or breath test refusal. Some drivers may qualify for diversion programs that provide substance use treatment and possible reduced charges.